Finding God in the Laodicean Church

I know Christians should meet together as scripture teaches, but many times I have to wonder what the point is.  I understand fellowship with other believers is valuable for spiritual and emotional support in this increasingly Godless world, but what about the preaching?  Where are the men of God like Charles Spurgeon, John Wesley, George Whitefield and others from around the turn of the century who weren’t afraid to preach the truth!  They taught to fear God and not man!  They weren’t afraid to preach about sin, repentance and judgment.  But there are a few.  I am so thankful for men like John MacArthur, Gary Hedrick, T.A. McMahon, Dave Hunt and others in our day who aren’t afraid to teach the same message Jesus taught… that we need to humble ourselves, repent and walk in righteousness because there is a  Day of Judgment coming after which the unrepentant will be thrown into hell.

Tragically, this kind of preaching doesn’t seem to be the norm anymore… especially in any of the churches I have visited over the past several years.  I would like to know if anyone has ever heard their pastor warn their congregation that they will go to hell if they don’t know Christ.  And I don’t mean that “eternal separation from God” stuff.  They have to say the word “hell.”  Pastors today are all about love… and that’s fine, but if these pastors really love their flocks, don’t you think they should be warning those who are listening about coming judgment and to get right with God?

About alongthenarrowway

I grew up in the ‘60’s and 70’s… the era of self! The age of self-indulgence and self-absorption promoted by the onslaught of self-help books in the pursuit of a higher self-esteem. The “I’m Okay, You’re Okay” generation. It was only natural then that I grew up with a false sense of self-righteousness. I saw myself as a good person by my own merits… my own accomplishments. If I ever gave heaven any thought, I was convinced that I was good enough to go if for no other reason than there were far worse people than me. You know the ones… liars, thieves and murderers? Well, in August of 1978 my pedestal of self-exultation was yanked out from beneath my feet when I was shown through the scriptures what God thought of my “goodness.” I was shocked to learn that I would not be judged by man’s standards someday, which are comparatively low, but by God’s standards! BIG difference! I learned that just one tiny little sin – even a little lie - would prevent me from entering into heaven. And when I did a self-assessment, I realized that I had not told just one lie, but many lies! And not only told lies, but I had stolen… many times! Okay… just little stuff but it was stealing all the same! And then worst of all… God considered hatred to be murder! How many times had I hated someone in my 19 years?? So I was a murderer too?!? Suddenly, my “goodness” didn’t seem so good anymore and my good deeds had become like filthy rags. I realized there was nothing whatsoever redeemable in me by God and suddenly the thought hit me… if I were to die at that moment, I wouldn’t be going to heaven, but to hell. With that understanding, I cast off my self-righteousness and threw myself at the mercy of the only One who could save me from hell… Jesus. In utter humility and repentance I asked Jesus to save me because I realized there was nothing I could do to save myself. That was over 30 years ago when I changed course and began to walk the narrow road that leads to heaven. It has not necessarily been an easy road to travel and it’s been costly at times. Also, finding the narrow road was very difficult. I had to come to Jesus in brokenness and repentance over my sin. I had to acknowledge that if I got what I really deserved, I’d end up in hell. It’s now no longer about myself… but about Christ. Like the hymn says: “Jesus paid it all, all to Him I owe. Sin had left a crimson stain, He washed it white as snow." Jesus tells us%2
This entry was posted in My Work & Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

