Middle East Uprootings!

The Middle East has exploded into a kaleidoscope of riots and upheaval leading to drastic changes in leadership for Israel’s neighbors to the north, east and south!  The final outcome of Egypt’s turmoil seems to be heading toward a more militant form of government wherein the Brotherhood of Islam may take a leading role.  And on the heels of Egypt, I believe we have witnessed the uprooting of the third horn (Dan. 7:8)… the nation of Jordan!

Regardless of whether or not the King of Jordan manages to hold onto his throne, which seems likely that he will, the fact remains that the form of government that was once the ruling authority in Jordan last week, is no more.  And how was it uprooted?  By the King himself!  And it seems the new, more extreme form of government will maintain the same militant view toward Israel as those of the other radical Middle Eastern Islamic states.  This is a complete change in direction for the Jordanian government and such change does not bode well for Israel.  Sadly, the list of Israel’s allies grows shorter and shorter – or perhaps the reality from the past several weeks reveals the list of Israel’s allies is now non-existent.

Oh, the clarity of hindsight!  I should have seen it coming that the uprooting would not be of hostile nations toward Israel, but friendly!  Both Egypt and Jordan have consistently maintained peaceful relationships with Israel so the removal of these two governments to make way for the Brotherhood of Islam’s more radical form of government will make the Antichrist’s ability to stabilize that region and bring peace all the more stupendous – and also more devious.  And because the King of Jordan managed to hang onto his throne, he could still in fact be the one who is able to broker the peace deal.

And what about America?  America – by and large – has been an ally of Israel which, according to Genesis 12:3 would explain why God has blessed our nation these past two centuries.  But to our demise, that policy has been slowly changing over the past several decades as we continue to see our political posture toward Israel becoming less of an ally and more of an enemy.  Most recently, our treatment of Israel can be interpreted as nothing short of outright betrayal.  Anyone who does not concede that the American people have managed to elect into office the most anti-Semitic president to ever darken the door of the Oval Office, has been living in a cave.  So if anyone questions where America is in the last days, we have made ourselves an enemy of God by aligning ourselves with those militant nations that seek nothing less than the complete annihilation of Israel and we will suffer their same fate.  Yes, America is in for some dark and dangerous times.

So… if we have, in fact, witnessed the third and final uprooting, then this is what we can expect to see in the very near future.  First, the rapture of the church as described in I Thessalonians 4:15-17.  Thereafter, the Antichrist will be revealed to the world by successfully brokering a peace agreement between the Arabs and the Jews (Daniel 9:27, Rev. 6:1).  The signing of this peace agreement will signal the beginning of the 7-year tribulation period – also known as the time of Jacob’s Trouble.

Dark days are ahead for our planet.  However, if you are a believer who has repented and surrendered your life to  Christ Jesus, then rejoice because in spite of the terrible times ahead for our world, we know these signs also signal the soon return of our Lord.  God’s plan for the ages is unfolding.  The final curtain is coming down on 6,000 years of man’s existence on this planet and a new era is about to be ushered in.  But be forewarned… times are going to get much, much worse before they get better.  (Matt. 24; Luke 21)  I hope like me you are watching!

Leslie

http://www.foxnews.com/world/2011/02/07/jordans-tribes-warn-revolt-reform/

*********

Article by Christian Friends of Israel ~

ISRAEL’S NEIGHBORS IN POLITICAL TURMOIL
February 2011/Jewish Year 5771

It is not too often that Israel’s neighbors on three sides are all in political turmoil at the same time. But as of this writing, riots have been going on in Egypt, Lebanon, and even Jordan. Although President George W. Bush was hopeful of spreading democracy to the Middle East, for the most part he did not succeed. That’s because it seems to be ingrained in the Middle Eastern psyche that nations should be ruled by “strongmen,” like the late Saddam Hussein, Bashar Assad, or Hosni Mubarak (although in comparison with some of the others, Mubarak’s regime has been less brutal).

Now, however, riots that began in Tunisia, spread to Egypt, and then to Jordan, seem to indicate that the people will only accept so much, and then when they have had enough they will rebel. So maybe the “government-by-the people-for-the-people” Western model has had some influence after all. As of this writing serious riots are continuing in Egypt, and a number of people have been killed with many more arrested. Mubarak’s son, Gemal, whom Hosni may have been grooming to take over, has fled to the UK with his family. There is a report that El Baradei (former IAEA head) is returning to Egypt and may head up an interim government.

So how does this impact Israel? Israel has a peace treaty with Egypt, worked out by former president Anwar Sadat and continued by Mubarak. If turmoil continues and if someone moderate like the pro-democracy El Baradei does not head up the government, the Muslim Brotherhood could step in. They are a radical group that could conceivably cancel the peace treaty with Israel. In that case Israel would have an avowed enemy on her southwestern doorstep.

In Jordan the riots have been more muted, and some say that though they could bring about a “government” change, insurgents would not call for the ouster of King Abdullah “whom we love,” as one of them said. Israel also has a peace treaty with Jordan, so it is in Israel’s interest to help keep Jordan stable (though as of this writing there is no indication that Israel is about to step in). In Lebanon, after Hariri’s government collapsed due to a Hizbullah pullout, political confusion has ruled the day. Hizbullah fears that some of their own ministers will be indicted by the UN Tribunal that was set up to investigate the assassination of Rafik Hariri in 2005. To head this off, Hizbullah pulled out of the government while Saad Hariri (Rafik’s son) was in Washington DC, conferring with President Obama. The political turmoil has resulted in some rioting in the streets, and this again has ramifications for Israel, as Israel needs a quiet Lebanon on her northern border.

As of this writing, Hizbullah has put forward its own choice for prime minister, Najib Mikati, who is currently attempting to form a government. Mikati has reportedly said he will seek ties with the U.S. Perhaps all is not lost in Lebanon, but many fear that Hizbullah will control the new government. Since Hizbullah is a strong enemy of Israel, the Jewish state may have yet another problem, this time on the northern border.  [End of article]

About alongthenarrowway

I grew up in the ‘60’s and 70’s… the era of self! The age of self-indulgence and self-absorption promoted by the onslaught of self-help books in the pursuit of a higher self-esteem. The “I’m Okay, You’re Okay” generation. It was only natural then that I grew up with a false sense of self-righteousness. I saw myself as a good person by my own merits… my own accomplishments. If I ever gave heaven any thought, I was convinced that I was good enough to go if for no other reason than there were far worse people than me. You know the ones… liars, thieves and murderers? Well, in August of 1978 my pedestal of self-exultation was yanked out from beneath my feet when I was shown through the scriptures what God thought of my “goodness.” I was shocked to learn that I would not be judged by man’s standards someday, which are comparatively low, but by God’s standards! BIG difference! I learned that just one tiny little sin – even a little lie - would prevent me from entering into heaven. And when I did a self-assessment, I realized that I had not told just one lie, but many lies! And not only told lies, but I had stolen… many times! Okay… just little stuff but it was stealing all the same! And then worst of all… God considered hatred to be murder! How many times had I hated someone in my 19 years?? So I was a murderer too?!? Suddenly, my “goodness” didn’t seem so good anymore and my good deeds had become like filthy rags. I realized there was nothing whatsoever redeemable in me by God and suddenly the thought hit me… if I were to die at that moment, I wouldn’t be going to heaven, but to hell. With that understanding, I cast off my self-righteousness and threw myself at the mercy of the only One who could save me from hell… Jesus. In utter humility and repentance I asked Jesus to save me because I realized there was nothing I could do to save myself. That was over 30 years ago when I changed course and began to walk the narrow road that leads to heaven. It has not necessarily been an easy road to travel and it’s been costly at times. Also, finding the narrow road was very difficult. I had to come to Jesus in brokenness and repentance over my sin. I had to acknowledge that if I got what I really deserved, I’d end up in hell. It’s now no longer about myself… but about Christ. Like the hymn says: “Jesus paid it all, all to Him I owe. Sin had left a crimson stain, He washed it white as snow." Jesus tells us%2
This entry was posted in My Work & Writings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

