The Pressure’s On!!

Things are really heating up in the Middle East and there’s more talk now than ever before about a peace agreement as early as this September! Sounds like it may coincide with Rosh Hashanah, aka the Feast of Trumpets!

Both sides still seem unwilling to budge on some important key issues so how is peace going to come about? As much as I hate the thought, possibly another war between Israel and her Arab neighbors! Isn’t war what usually precedes a peace agreement? Even now Israel is holding daily drills in anticipation of an inevitable attack. And to make matters worse, with the takeover of once-moderate Egypt by Islam, Hamas has been steadily smuggling in weapons of war across the border into the Gaza Strip. Further evidence that the Gaza Strip was never about a Palestinian state for the Palestinian refugees but about the partitioning of Israel until she is eventually left indefensible.

And do you remember which U.S. president put immense pressure upon Israel to relinquish the Gaza Strip to the Palestinians? President Bush, Jr.! And believe me, America paid a heavy price for that with Hurricane Katrina!  Did you know that on the very day the last few remaining Jews were evicted from their homes in the Gaza Strip, was the very same day Hurricane Katrina began to form out in the Atlantic to eventually became the costliest natural disaster to ever hit American shores?  Coincidence?  I don’t think so.  But sadly, we learned nothing and in fact, America has increased her pressure on Israel to divide Jerusalem and return the nation to her pre-1967 borders which we know is suicide for the Jews!

Yes, things are looking very bleak for the small Jewish nation although certainly not a predicament she has not found herself in multiple times before. However, this time, the Arabs have WMDs. And with both the Gaza Strip and the Golan Heights in the hands of her sworn enemies, Israel will be an easy target from all sides.

Over 2,000 years ago when Christ came to earth as a man, the Jews believed – and rightly so – that He was their Messiah. And as their Messiah, they were certain He was going to put down their persecutors, the Roman Empire, and right then and there restore the kingdom to Israel. So you can imagine how confused and disappointed they were when instead of brandishing a sword and going to war against Rome, Christ set His face toward the cross. What they didn’t understand was that Christ didn’t come to vanquish Israel’s enemies, but to deal with the problem of SIN. Sin… the enemy of all of mankind! Yes, Christ could have easily destroyed the Roman Empire and then given the rulership over to the Jews, but that wouldn’t have taken care of the sin problem. The only way to resolve the sin problem was doing just what Christ did. He came to earth as a man, lived a perfect, sinless life and then went to the cross to shed His blood for mankind. Jesus conquered sin and death on the cross that day for all and for those of us who have put our complete trust in Jesus Christ, He is now our Lord and Savior. But sadly Israel is still waiting for their Messiah. They are looking for Him to make it possible for Israel to at last live in peace and resume her animal sacrifices in their newly rebuilt Jewish temple. And that is why Israel will be easy prey.

Right now the stage is set for a man to come on the scene who the Jews will believe may be their Messiah. This man will rise to power and be able to offer something to both the Jews and Arabs that will put an end to the fighting and lead to the signing of a 7-year peace agreement. We have to believe it will deal directly with the issues of Israel’s borders, the rebuilding of a third Jewish temple and, of course, Jerusalem. Perhaps all three. So be paying attention to the world news because Jesus said in the last days the world would go through birth pains immediately preceding the end. Check. And Jesus warned that false prophets claiming to be Him would be on the increase. Check. And Christ also said when you hear “peace, peace” be ready for the end is near! Check!!

Jesus said we cannot know the “day or the hour,” but we can know the season IF we’re paying attention! And the innumerable clues within scripture shout that the time of the rapture, the 7-year tribulation period and return of Christ are all very, very near!! So be ready!! The stage IS set for the antichrist to come upon the scene and I don’t want you to miss it!

About alongthenarrowway

I grew up in the ‘60’s and 70’s… the era of self! The age of self-indulgence and self-absorption promoted by the onslaught of self-help books in the pursuit of a higher self-esteem. The “I’m Okay, You’re Okay” generation. It was only natural then that I grew up with a false sense of self-righteousness. I saw myself as a good person by my own merits… my own accomplishments. If I ever gave heaven any thought, I was convinced that I was good enough to go if for no other reason than there were far worse people than me. You know the ones… liars, thieves and murderers? Well, in August of 1978 my pedestal of self-exultation was yanked out from beneath my feet when I was shown through the scriptures what God thought of my “goodness.” I was shocked to learn that I would not be judged by man’s standards someday, which are comparatively low, but by God’s standards! BIG difference! I learned that just one tiny little sin – even a little lie - would prevent me from entering into heaven. And when I did a self-assessment, I realized that I had not told just one lie, but many lies! And not only told lies, but I had stolen… many times! Okay… just little stuff but it was stealing all the same! And then worst of all… God considered hatred to be murder! How many times had I hated someone in my 19 years?? So I was a murderer too?!? Suddenly, my “goodness” didn’t seem so good anymore and my good deeds had become like filthy rags. I realized there was nothing whatsoever redeemable in me by God and suddenly the thought hit me… if I were to die at that moment, I wouldn’t be going to heaven, but to hell. With that understanding, I cast off my self-righteousness and threw myself at the mercy of the only One who could save me from hell… Jesus. In utter humility and repentance I asked Jesus to save me because I realized there was nothing I could do to save myself. That was over 30 years ago when I changed course and began to walk the narrow road that leads to heaven. It has not necessarily been an easy road to travel and it’s been costly at times. Also, finding the narrow road was very difficult. I had to come to Jesus in brokenness and repentance over my sin. I had to acknowledge that if I got what I really deserved, I’d end up in hell. It’s now no longer about myself… but about Christ. Like the hymn says: “Jesus paid it all, all to Him I owe. Sin had left a crimson stain, He washed it white as snow." Jesus tells us%2
This entry was posted in My Work & Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

