Signs of These Last Days

If you have surrendered your life to Christ and He is your Savior, then rejoice in these perilous times and “see to it that you are not alarmed” because Jesus warned us that the things we see happening in our world today would happen precisely as He said they would.  So why be worried by the news headlines?  We know that God is, and has always been, very active in the affairs of mankind and nothing happens except that God allows it.

For Christians who know what to watch for, we are seeing some very specific events unfolding before our eyes in the political and religious world that tell us the time known as Jacob’s Trouble, or the Tribulation Period, is very near, including the rapture of the church.

Here are just a few of the key signs that relate to Bible prophecy in our world today:

First and foremost:  The restoration of the Nation of Israel.   Never before in the history of the world have a people who have been dispersed throughout the entire world, ever returned to re-establish a homeland.  NEVER.  Yet, that is precisely what happened on May 14, 1948.  After more than 2,500 years of dispersion, the Jews are back in the land that God gave to them, the descendants of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.

This is a key event because Jesus warns us in Matthew 24:32-34 that when we see the “fig tree” bloom, the end is near.  In Jeremiah 24:5, God referred to the Jews as “figs,” therefore, the logical interpretation of Matthew 24:32-34 would be that a “fig tree” refers to a young Jewish nation.  The reference to the blooming of the fig tree, symbolizes the coming forth of a “new” Jewish nation.  When we apply Psalm 90:10 which defines the number of years in a generation being about 70 – 80 years, we are faced with the realization that mankind’s days as we know it on planet earth are fast approaching the end according to Bible prophecy.

Second, the partitioning of the land God gave to the Jewish people.  The land of Israel has been invaded and conquered by various kingdoms in the past, however, this is the first time in history that the land of Israel has been divided up!  (Joel 3:2)

Third, Jesus warned that in the last days, if He did not cut those days short, no flesh would be left alive on the planet. (Matt. 24:22)  Amazingly, this prophecy was foretold by Jesus during the first century when weaponry consisted of spears and swords.  Our generation is the first generation to possess the capability of destroying life on the planet 10 times over by nuclear and chemical warfare.  (Ezekiel 39:14-16)

Fourth, the emergence of a one-world religion.  We know it as the “ecumenical movement” – a religion that embraces ALL religions of the world.  A religion whose very foundation is grounded upon tolerance.  A movement that is alive and well in American churches.  Yet, Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth and the life.  No man comes to the Father except by Me.”  Such exclusiveness and intolerance will lead to increased persecution of Jesus’ followers for suggesting there is only one way to heaven through Jesus Christ.  There will be little patience for a religion that is so blatantly exclusive by world standards and true converts will pay for their intolerant beliefs with their lives.  (I Timothy 4:1, 2 Timothy 4:1-4, Rev. 3:15-16)

Fifth, an increase in intensity and frequency of natural disasters.  No explanation necessary if you are reading the headlines.  Jesus said in the last days, the world would be like a woman ready to give birth. As the time for the child to be delivered draws closer, her contractions become more frequent and more intense until the baby is born.  Certainly, that describes our world today with the increase in natural disasters worldwide.  (Matthew 24:4-8, Luke 21:8-11)

So what can we expect in the days to come?  As Zechariah predicted (Zech. 12:2-3), the greatest point of contention in the Middle East would be Jerusalem – and so it is.  The Muslims and the Vatican all want to control this city.   The Pope wants to make Jerusalem an “international” city and there is now talk of dividing Jerusalem.  The fact that Jerusalem has become such a point of contention is astounding in itself considering that God’s Holy City, is not a city with tremendous beauty or even any natural resources!  Yet all the surrounding nations are willing to go to war over her!

Add into the mix the plight of the “Palestinian refugees,” Iran’s soon nuclear capabilities, and an Israeli Prime Minister who has a track record of opposing any agreement that requires Israel to relinquish land, and you have a powder keg ready to blow.

These circumstances and the seeming impossibility of peace have set the stage for a man to come on the scene who will bring peace to the Middle East.  We know him from scripture as the Man of Lawlessness, or the Antichrist.  This man will broker a 7-year peace agreement between Israel and the Arab nations, but it will be a false peace agreement.  According to Daniel, he will be a small horn that will arise from a small, obscure nation to the south and east of the Beautiful Land (Israel).  He will come on the scene as a man of peace (Rev. 6).  I believe he will achieve peace by giving both the Arabs and the Jews what they want.  For the Arab people:  The West Bank to set up a homeland for the “Palestinian” people.  And for the Jews?  He will promise them what they have been earnestly praying for as a people and a nation for more than 1,900 years: a Third Jewish Temple.  We know from Daniel 9 that a Third Jewish Temple will, in fact, be built – and all signs point to this rebuilding in the very near future.

I often hear people ask the question, “Where is America in the last days?”  Sadly, since taking office, President Obama has made his position quite clear where he stands concerning our only democratic ally in the Middle East as he has clearly established himself to be one of the most anti-Semitic politicians to hold the office of U.S. President!  This also lines up with prophecy in that Ezekiel 38 says that in the last days, all nations will come against Israel.  That means, IF America is still a viable nation when this global war commences, America will very likely partner with the surrounding Arab nations to launch an assault against God’s chosen people.  What a sad thought that America would conspire with Israel’s enemies to annihilate her, yet the Bible predicts Israel will be completely on her own.

What an amazing time to be alive and watching Bible prophecy reach fulfillment before our very eyes!

About alongthenarrowway

I grew up in the ‘60’s and 70’s… the era of self! The age of self-indulgence and self-absorption promoted by the onslaught of self-help books in the pursuit of a higher self-esteem. The “I’m Okay, You’re Okay” generation. It was only natural then that I grew up with a false sense of self-righteousness. I saw myself as a good person by my own merits… my own accomplishments. If I ever gave heaven any thought, I was convinced that I was good enough to go if for no other reason than there were far worse people than me. You know the ones… liars, thieves and murderers? Well, in August of 1978 my pedestal of self-exultation was yanked out from beneath my feet when I was shown through the scriptures what God thought of my “goodness.” I was shocked to learn that I would not be judged by man’s standards someday, which are comparatively low, but by God’s standards! BIG difference! I learned that just one tiny little sin – even a little lie - would prevent me from entering into heaven. And when I did a self-assessment, I realized that I had not told just one lie, but many lies! And not only told lies, but I had stolen… many times! Okay… just little stuff but it was stealing all the same! And then worst of all… God considered hatred to be murder! How many times had I hated someone in my 19 years?? So I was a murderer too?!? Suddenly, my “goodness” didn’t seem so good anymore and my good deeds had become like filthy rags. I realized there was nothing whatsoever redeemable in me by God and suddenly the thought hit me… if I were to die at that moment, I wouldn’t be going to heaven, but to hell. With that understanding, I cast off my self-righteousness and threw myself at the mercy of the only One who could save me from hell… Jesus. In utter humility and repentance I asked Jesus to save me because I realized there was nothing I could do to save myself. That was over 30 years ago when I changed course and began to walk the narrow road that leads to heaven. It has not necessarily been an easy road to travel and it’s been costly at times. Also, finding the narrow road was very difficult. I had to come to Jesus in brokenness and repentance over my sin. I had to acknowledge that if I got what I really deserved, I’d end up in hell. It’s now no longer about myself… but about Christ. Like the hymn says: “Jesus paid it all, all to Him I owe. Sin had left a crimson stain, He washed it white as snow." Jesus tells us%2
This entry was posted in My Work & Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

